I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award!

Posted: March 25, 2015 in Misc
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

liebster-award

Many thanks to Table for Glasses for the nomination! Basically, this is a nice way to discover and promote new blogs and those with smaller groups of followers and to get us all talking a little about what we’re doing here and why we love doing it.

1. What made you want to do your blog? Might sound obvious, but because I love to write! I never feel quite right without a draft deadline and a word count (you can tell I was an English major!) After graduating I did the odd article for a friend and it soon became a fully-fledged hobby. I posted articles and reviews here, there and all over the place. Then, after a major hard drive disaster along with the discovery that several of my old links were defunct, I thought I’d be sensible and create my own blog to pull it all together.

2. Are you as inspired to write it as the time you began it? I’m inspired now more than ever before. In fact, I’ve branched out a bit by sharing videos and artwork as well as things I’ve written. There may be another blog for creative writing – we’ll see how that goes.

awesomemix

3. If you could pick an album and a film to have on a desert island, what would they be? For films, I’d either go a musical or music-themed title (Empire Records, Little Shop of Horrors, Scott Pilgrim versus the World, Repo! etc) or a movie I can watch many times in a row and spot something different (Fight Club, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Donnie Darko, these lists go on!) The key here is re-watch value and I find music or head-buggery keeps me going back. For albums, one I still haven’t got sick of is the soundtrack from Guardians of the Galaxy, plus I’d be on a desert island so I could totally bust out some sweet Starlord moves! I’d also be happy with any Manic Street Preachers album that’s not Lifeblood.

4. The Beatles or The Stones or Rush? The Stones? Hell yeah, I’d pick the Rolling Stones! When I was much younger I loved music and was learning the guitar but there wasn’t much on the radio I enjoyed (the UK in the early nineties was a musical dead zone). Then my dad broke out the old Stones records and I became an instant fan. Some nice if unintentional parenting teamwork went on there – my mum taught me to play guitar and my dad introduced me to Keith Richards. Still got a lot of love for the Beatles too, particularly George Harrison’s contributions. When my dad gave me his records, there were a good few Beatles albums among them, including a copy of The White Album with tea spilled on the cover, which I suppose is now technically The Beige Album.

5. If you had to pick a song for me to write about on my blog, what would it be? Let’s get some Manics on there. So much to pick from though – Old or new? Anthem? Cover version? Here’s one for each (I like to give options); Old – Roses in the Hospital, New – Let’s Go To War, Anthem – Design For Life, Cover – Been A Son (Nirvana.)

boardwithanailinit

6. Aliens are invading the Earth and have evil intentions – what weapon do you use to defend yourself? A board with a nail in it… what? It worked on The Simpsons! I guess there’s always the Spectre Gear sniper rifle from Mass Effect – nailed thousands of aliens with those and at a nice safe distance too.

7. Is this the best film ever?

Actually, this looks amazing! I might have to check it out for the crotch-grenade scene alone.

8. What is your favourite colour? Blue… no, yel-AAAAARRRGH!!!

bridgeofdeath

Sorry – I can’t resist obvious Monty Python gags! Truthfully, my favourite colour is purple.

9. Is Vocaloid awesome? (yes, it is)

I cannot lie… this is kind of adorable! Is this to do with the Hatsune Miku games? I’ve seen my flatmate play those. I haven’t myself but I do enjoy rhythm games from time to time, like Gitaroo Man and Um Jammer Lammy. (Note to self – consider Lammy for future blog post.)

eevee10. Which Pokemon would you choose if Professor Oak gave you the option, bearing in mind you can have any Pokemon you want (apart from the legendary Pokemon)? Hurry, because Team Rocket are hiding around the corner!! I’d probably take Eevee – it’s got bags of potential and it’s just so darn cute! I know there are bigger, stronger Pokemon out there but I like the idea of one I can raise as a loyal companion as well as a badass. How would I evolve it? Probably to Umbreon (I like dark types), maybe Vaporeon if I wanted to go surfing. Most of the generation 1 fire types are cool too – I’d be really happy to get a Vulpix or a Growlithe. Meowth sounds like a good idea too. Short on cash? Teach it Pay Day!

Sidenote: Am I the only one missing Team Rocket from the games?

Comments
  1. bcdcdude says:

    Thanks for responding! Yes, to question 9 – it is from the Hatsune Miku games. I got it for Christmas and ended up buying a soundtrack from Japan every month since 🙂

    Also….DON’T THREATEN ME, MICHAELSON!!!

Leave a Reply

