Sketches: Ninetales (Pokemon)

Posted: March 4, 2015 in Art
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here it is – my first request! If anyone else can suggest something for me to draw then please add a comment. I do like a challenge!

Ninetales: The original Firefox!

Ninetales has been one of my favourite Pokemon since the first generation. Why do I love it so much? Well, it’s a Fire type, and fire’s just plain cool. Also my first Ninetales boasted incredible speed, not to mention a few cunning tricks that kept the Elite Four on their toes over and over again. Yes, I was one of those pricks who used Confuse Ray. Apart from that, she just looked so warm and fluffy that I couldn’t help but adore her (being first gen, I could only assume it was a ‘her’ – if I got that wrong, sorry ‘Roxie!’)

I based my Ninetales on the original design by Ken Sugimori, rather than copying someone else’s interpretation. (I did see some really lovely ones online though.) Shading was a little tricky as there’s only so much you can do with light-coloured fur. Also, I realised I’d got the snout wrong, but it was too late to change it without starting over. The flowing shapes of the tails – counted carefully while I was doing the outline to make sure I’d got all nine – felt soothing to draw and hopefully captured the elegant and ethereal qualities which, I think, characterise this Pokemon.

Big thanks to IPunchBearsForFun for the suggestion to draw Ninetales. Thanks also for encouraging me to take up sketching again and for trading me loads of great Pokemon – including ‘Flarf’ the Vulpix – on Omega Ruby.

Leave a Reply

