Wee Lin Rants: Mothers and Games

Posted: April 12, 2014 in Game Heroines, Gaming
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Why don’t we see many mother figures in video games? As someone who’s so interested in how female characters are portrayed in general I’m surprised this didn’t occur to me sooner. In this video, I attempt to account for their lack of presence up until this point and argue that it’s high time we saw some hero mums in gaming.

Of course, maybe it’s already happening and has escaped my notice. Know of any good examples of motherhood being represented in games? Let me know in the comments – I’d love to hear about them!

Here’s the link to that episode of Extra Credits I mentioned. I’ve been watching a lot of these guys lately and they’ve definitely given me food for thought on several game-related topics. Hopefully my video isn’t too much of a rip-off!: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1qndga6SNU

Leave a Reply

